1 Followers
22 Following
mgorges

mgorges

Rebecca Costa

The Watchman's Rattle: A Radical New Theory of Collapse - Rebecca Costa

Rebecca Costa is a sociobiologist who offers an evolutionary explanation for current events and emerging trends.  A new voice in the mold of Thomas Friedman and Malcolm Gladwell, Costa attributes modern consternation - from terrorism, crime on Wall Street, epidemic obesity and upheaval in the Middle East - to genetic imperatives.  Retiring from a career in Silicon Valley, Costa spent six years researching and writing The Watchman’s Rattle.  The success of the book in 25 countries led to a weekly syndicated radio program called The Costa Report.  Costa is presently represented by the American Program Bureau and the Scott Meredith Literary Agency. 

Source: http://www.rebeccacosta.com

The Watchman's Rattle

The Watchman's Rattle: A Radical New Theory of Collapse - Rebecca Costa

Passing recession or worldwide collapse?

Why are economic, social and political problems leaping ahead faster than governments can patch them up?

Business professionals, politicians, housewives, academia, and an ever-lengthening unemployment line are desperate to understand why our problems keep getting bigger.

Now comes The Watchman's Rattle: A Radical New Theory of Collapse, a book that connects the dots between crime, oil prices, Wall Street, global warming, nuclear waste and childhood violence. In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell and Thomas Friedman, scholar and author Rebecca D. Costa reveals the four telltale patterns which paralyze innovative thinking, and with it, a civilization's ability to solve complex problems. Using both historic and modern day examples, The Watchman's Rattle describes what happens when complexity races ahead of the brain's ability to manage it, the underlying reason why experts and governments can no longer fix global crisis and conflict. In The Watchman's Rattle, Costa shows how the same deconstructionist problem solving techniques used to "find lost luggage" are ineffectively being used to address global warming, war, poverty and the worldwide financial crisis. The Watchman's Rattle: A Radical New Theory of Collapse turns a complicated web of public policies and human behaviors into an unstoppable, page-turning, entertaining book.